South Burlington Voting Results

Home » City » South Burlington Voting Results

Thursday August 16, 2018

The Vermont Primary drew a higher than expected number of South Burlington voters to the polls on Tuesday, August 14. The city’s three polling locations were busy throughout the day, with citizens voting right up until polls closed at 7 p.m. Twenty-eight percent of the 14,563 voters on the city’s checklist cast ballots. Absentee ballots accounted for 1,052 of the 4,140 total votes, which, according to City Clerk Donna Kinville, is an all time high for a state primary.

Voters were given three ballots, Democratic, Republican, and Progressive, with instructions to choose only one for voting. A separate ballot was issued for Article I and Article II, regarding the approval of a ten year tax for bicycle and pedestrian infrastructure improvements. South Burlington voters cast 3,147 Democratic ballots, 975 Republican ballots, and 18 Progressive ballots. The initiative to fund improvements to the city’s recreation paths passed by a wide margin.

Of the contested races on the Democratic ballot in South Burlington, 2,787 voted for Bernie Sanders for U.S. Senator, over 223 for Adeluola. For the Congressional nomination, Peter Welch, received 2,495 votes over Freilich (410) and Mitchell (77). In the Governor’s race, Christine Hallquist collected 1,125 votes over Ehlers (704), Siegal (437), and Sonneborn (219). South Burlington’s votes echoed the choices made across the state, advancing Sanders, Welch, and Hallquist for the nominations. In the uncontested Democratic bids for nomination, Lt. Governor Zuckerman received 2,637 votes; for State Treasurer, incumbent Pearce received 2,622 votes; Secretary of State Condos received 2,652 votes; Hoffer received 2,496 votes for Auditor of Accounts; and Donovan received 2,695 votes for Attorney General.

There were nine Democrats running for the six Chittenden County State Senator spots on the ticket. The total votes from all of Chittenden County advanced Ashe, Baruth, Ingram, Lyons, Pearson, and Sirotkin. South Burlington votes tallied as follows: Ashe (2,157), Sirotkin (2,085), Lyons (2,036), Ingram (1,670), Baruth (1,604), Pearson (1,287), Carzello (1,181), May (581), Abbey (480).

Each of South Burlington’s voting districts had a single Democratic candidate running for State Representative. Incumbent Martin LaLonde (7-1) received 717 votes, Ann Pugh, incumbent (7-2), received 743 votes, and incumbent Maida Townsend (7- 4) received 605 votes. First-time candidate John Killacky ran an uncontested race in District 7-3, receiving 600 votes.

For Probate Judge, Gregory Glennon received 1,562 South Burlington votes and William “Bill” Norful received 807 votes from South Burlington. Glennon prevailed for the nomination. For Assistant Judge, South Burlington voters cast 1,677 votes for Suzanne Brown, 690 votes for Charles Delaney, 1,068 votes for Connie Cain Ramsey and 332 votes for Zachary York. Brown and Ramsey receive the nomination. Also on the Democratic ballot were Sarah F. George for State’s Attorney (2,350 votes), and Daniel Gamelin who received 2,143 votes for High Bailiff. Michael Major (783) and Kevin McLaughlin (1,606) were vying for Sheriff, with McLaughlin advancing.

The nomination for Governor was one of the few contested races on the Republican ballot. South Burlington voters cast 791 votes for Phil Scott, and 173 for Stern. Tallies from across the state named Scott as the winner of the GOP nomination with 68 percent of the votes. Also on the Republican ballot, for U.S. Senator were Rocky De La Fuente (29), H.Brooke Paige (226), Jaseep Pannu (159), and Lawrence Zupan (211). The nomination at the state level was received by Paige. H. Brook Paige (336) and Anya Tynio (204) competed for Representative to Congress. Paige defeated Tynio. The two candidates for State Senator were Alex Farrell (556) and Dana Maxfield (464).

There were no candidates on the Progressive ballot.

The city’s residents voted resoundingly in favor of Article I (2,952 vote yes, 1,083 vote no) and Article II (2,917 vote yes, 1,067 vote no) for a tax initiative to improve infrastructure for the city’s pedestrian paths, and bike lanes.